Of Orwell, Huxley, Bateman and Booth

“In the new edition of Amusing Ourselves to Death by Neil Postman, George Orwell and Aldous Huxley are quoted. Orwell feared that truth would be concealed from us. Huxley feared that truth would be drowned in a sea of irrelevance. I fear that they are both right. It has been said that to have a real democracy the rulers must be open and transparent in their actions. Think about this when you choose which…candidate to vote for.” Robert Bateman

Having been a politician who believes in truthful, open and transparent government, I completely agree with my fellow island developer/artist.

Actions always speak louder than words, and the concealing of truths by politicians, from those they represent, is an unforgivable betrayal of trust.

I am often taken to task for articles I have written, or speeches I have given.

However, seldom do I meet someone who can give me a good, unemotional and rational argument to contradict what I say.

Last summer, a friend of mine related a rather amusing story. He had just been speaking with a mutual acquaintance who said something to the effect, “I don’t understand it. People either really like Eric Booth, or they really dislike him. I know Eric, and I just don’t get why there is such a 50/50 polarized, kneejerk response to even the utterance of his name.”

I laughed out loud when I was told this tale. It has been my experience that most negative responses to my musings are ad hominem attacks on me ala – “I don’t want to discuss what he said, he just…well…he just shouldn’t have said what he said…and….because he said it, he’s a jerk.”

I’m sure that will resonate with many readers. Some will laugh, and some won’t.

So, here’s a Spring challenge for all of you out there who believe in truth, and open and transparent government (like Robert Bateman, Ghandi and me). Take a few minutes, pick any one of my posts to pick on, and send me your best rational arguments in disagreement with what I have said.

As long as you quote what I have actually said that you disagree with, your comments are “expletive deleted,” and you use your real name, I’ll post them. Perhaps we can have some unemotional, rational discussion and debate on island issues like RAR, community housing, carbon footprints, water, etc..  Tell us how you believe our current local government is acting in an open and transparent fashion. I want to hear your side of the stories, you’ve certainly heard mine.

The lines are now open…hit me with your best shot, fire away….amuse us to death 🙂 E

As always, if you like what I write, please click on the Subscribe button on the top of the site, and pass along “Trust Matters” www.islandstrust.org to your friends and neighbours.
One Response to Of Orwell, Huxley, Bateman and Booth

  1. Donn Tarris says:

    I’m looking forward to the exchange, hopefully some thoughtful and challenging discussion can take place!

Leave a Reply

